Skip to content

Texture matters

September 3, 2010

So I’ve mentioned that I am a ridiculous person, so it should come as no surprise that I also spend ridiculous amounts of money to buy ridiculous things. Even more so when it comes to my baby.

So when I saw the Sprout meals in the store (created by the very sexy Tyler Florence) and the interesting flavors like Baked Sweet Potatoes and White Beans and Pasta with Lentil Bolognese, I forked over the $1.19 per single serving pouch and took some home.

The first night I gave her the sweet potatoes and white beans. It was a smooth puree typical of baby foods and she ate with a passion that I had never seen from her. Scott immediately declared that now I had ruined her for normal (read:cheap) food.

The next night we decided to try Summer Squash, Yukon Gold Potatoes and Parmesan. Sounds yummy. I opened the pouch and lo and behold out came something that actually looked like potatoes. I am unaccustomed to being able to recognize the ingredients in store bought combo baby meals. It actually looked yummy. When I fed it to Caroline, however, she made a face like I had just fed her a rotten lemon and promptly spit it out.

It looked so yummy how could she not like it. So I tasted it and it was pretty good, given that baby foods can’t be salted to death the way I like my food. So I tried again and again she spit it out. I could only assume it was the texture. She’s not ready for “real” foods yet. So I got out a nice smooth puree and she was in heaven.

I couldn’t just let the expensive baby food go to waste though so I nuked ’em, salted ’em and had them as a side for my dinner. I think that is actually a pretty good compliment to the food since most of the store bought baby food  tends to turn my stomach.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

