Skip to content

Chubby Cheeks and Caroline’s Birthday Challenge **CLOSED**

December 8, 2010

I love everything about my daughter but the body part that I love the most is those chubby little cheeks. They a so soft and smooth and utterly kissable. They make up the quintessential baby face and therefore represent all the innocence, vulnerability, hope and potential that is being a child.

They are also why I am reduced to tears so often these days. While I wasn’t exactly made of stone before, I can now be counted on to shed a tear or 20 at least once a day while watching TV or reading the news. Hearing stories about something bad happening to child used to make me sad but I could handle it. Now I can’t. Watching those St. Jude commercials used to bring a tear to my eye, now they reduce me to a blubbering mess.

It’s the chubby cheeks. When news shows a picture of the child in question and I see chubby cheeks, I lose it. When those little cherub faces show up talking about cancer I dissolve (even if the cheeks in question are a result of steroids).  I think about anything bad happening to Caroline and it almost kills me and it kills me that another mother has to see her child suffer.

I am so thankful that my child is the picture of health. She had never had anything more than a cold despite being in daycare full time. I don’t take it for granted for a moment.

St. Jude’s current slogan is: “Give thanks for the healthy kids in your life, and give to those who are not”. So in honor of Caroline’s upcoming first birthday and to give thanks for our healthy happy girl,  I’m announcing:

Caroline’s Birthday Challenge.

I’ll be giving $1 to St. Jude Childrens Research Hospital for every comment* left on this blog between now and Caroline’s birthday on January 8 up to $500**.

It won’t be much, this blog isn’t really about having a large or really any readership. It’s a place for me to talk incessantly about the minutia of my little girl’s life so that I don’t bore everyone around me by going on and on about it. It’s something that she can look back on as she gets older and get a feel for what she was like as a baby. I’m not a writer.  But for this occasion, I will be pimping it out a bit. If you are reading this, tell a friend. You can help donate to what I feel is one of the most worthwhile charities around by doing nothing more than leaving a simple comment.

I will try to post everyday so that there is something to comment on but I can’t promise that will happen, what with the holidays and the house guests, etc.

I encourage everyone to give to the charity of their choice. I’ve chosen St. Jude for a variety of reasons, the main one being their policy of providing treatment regardless of ability to pay. In this day of exorbitant healthcare costs, that is huge. I pray that I never find my family or anyone in my life  in the situation of needing their services, but I’m so thankful they are there if we do.

There, but for the grace of God, go I.

Thank you in advance!

*Excluding any and all SPAM comments.

** I would love to not have an upper limit but we’re not Rockefellers and we have daycare costs.

Click here to donate directly to St. Jude.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 4:31 pm

    What an amazing gift for your daughter! I can totally relate to your ‘kryptonite’- L has the same effect on me… I just can’t help it, he is sooo kissable. 🙂

  2. Noelle permalink
    December 8, 2010 5:35 pm

    Super cute. So true about kryptonite. Throw in a some red hair and I am helpless. This is a wonderful way to celebrate your lovely, healthy baby. Happy Birthday Caroline!!!!

  3. Amy permalink
    December 8, 2010 5:41 pm

    That is the sweetest birthday idea ever! I love it!

  4. December 8, 2010 6:32 pm

    You rock, chica. Happy 11 months to sweet Caroline, in the meantime! 🙂

  5. Kathi permalink
    December 8, 2010 7:14 pm

    What a great idea! Happy birthday, Caroline! She really is the picture of heath. Love the chubby cheeks.

  6. Amy M permalink
    December 8, 2010 7:41 pm

    Sweet Caroline of the adorable chubby cheeks – I heart you!

  7. ateytelb permalink
    December 9, 2010 3:20 pm

    Great idea! Happy 1st birthday to sweet Caroline!

  8. December 10, 2010 3:01 am

    This is a fantastic thing you are doing! I hope it’s a successful birthday challenge!

  9. December 13, 2010 2:25 pm

    one week closer to the big ONE!

  10. Shelley permalink
    December 27, 2010 9:06 pm

    Love her cheeks! Happy (early) birthday sweet girl!

  11. Sharon permalink
    December 28, 2010 1:37 am

    God bless you Caroline! I hope your life is filled with happiness and lots of kisses from mommy!

  12. January 1, 2011 4:59 pm

    What a fantastic idea! Your daughter is just precious. 🙂

  13. julie permalink
    January 1, 2011 5:23 pm

    what a wonderful gift.

  14. January 1, 2011 5:25 pm

    awesome idea!

  15. Sonya permalink
    January 1, 2011 5:26 pm

    Great idea! Happy Birthday!

  16. Jessica permalink
    January 1, 2011 8:46 pm

    This is so great! What a great idea!

  17. January 2, 2011 2:37 am

    What a stinkin cutie! & What a great thing to do =D

  18. January 8, 2011 10:59 pm

    What a great idea! I found you from Taryn’s blog! Happy Birthday! 🙂

  19. Bea permalink
    January 9, 2011 3:05 am

    What a thoughful idea. Happy 1st Birthday sweet Caroline, and may every one after be even sweeter!

Leave a Reply

