Skip to content

Random

December 22, 2010

I am completely obsessed with the cloth diapers. They are so soft and so cute. I can’t believe I waited so long to use them. I just ordered some more so that we can be all cloth at home. I won’t post the complicated spreadsheet I made to determine savings and maximize the number of wears I can get for my budget. My rule is that I have to manage at least a $200 savings over disposable alone. Since we still have to buy disposables for daycare, that puts a limit on my cloth diaper budget.

There are so many cute and neat options that it has been really hard to narrow things down. In the end this will be my collection.

4 bumGenious 4.0

1 Happy Heiny one size

2 Fuzzibuns one size

12 prefolds

1 Grovia cover

1 Flip cover

1 Thirsties Duo wrap

I think that will give me about 18 diaper changes. Enough to cloth at home completely with only 2 washes a week.  Now if I can figure out how to broach the subject at her daycare.

****

Caroline’s expressiveness is growing by leaps and bounds everyday. Yesterday morning she woke up yelling for her “bah” (ball) and wouldn’t rest until she had the ball in her hands. She tells us when she is all done, by throwing out her arms to the side and saying “ah nah”. At daycare when the babies are sleeping she puts her finger to her lips to say “shhhh”. This morning when she saw me making her bottles she was yelling “ba ba” “ba ba”, not to be confused with ball (see above).

No, most of this stuff can’t be understood by anyone but me, Scott and her teachers and no, I don’t think she is some sort of wunderkind because she is learning to talk and express herself, but it is amazing to watch the process. This little thing who could only cry before can now show so many different emotions and thoughts. Everyday I can’t wait to see what is next.

*******

I am beyond excited about Caroline’s first Christmas. I love Christmas anyway and with her, now I just want to do everything that the holiday calls for. I have to remind myself that I am limited by her age. But we will be making cookies for Santa, and reading The Night Before Christmas and Christmas jammies and stockings before presents and all that good stuff.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 12:54 pm

    Aaron also says Bah for ball and Ah Dun for all done, waving his arms like a baseball ump giving the “Safe!” call. It’s so great how their verbal skills grow.

  2. January 2, 2011 12:32 am

    I found you on the Cloth Diapering board and have loved reading your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

