Skip to content

No weaners in this fight

December 27, 2010

I had really wanted to wean Caroline around her 1st birthday. I have loved nursing her but I’m ready to be done. Unfortunately, she isn’t. While she does great with walking and is adding new vocabulary words everyday, when it comes to eating, she is like a 6 month old. She really only likes stage 2 foods and likes to nurse a lot, especially in the middle of the night.

I don’t even know how to start weaning her- in a way that won’t be overly traumatic for her anyway. I would pick the feeding that is least important to her, but she acts like they are all a matter of life or death.

I am practicing the don’t offer, don’t refuse method right now, but even if I don’t offer, she never forgets. Or gets distracted. She won’t take a bottle from me, though she has just started occasionally sipping a little milk from her sippy. That’s my light at the end of the tunnel. The sippy. I’ll be offering her milk from that before nursing everytime now. It only works about 10% of the time right now.

I have this horrible vision of me being one of those women who nurses her child until kindergarten- whether I like it or not.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 6:29 pm

    yikes. the only thing i know is that she WILL eat/drink from whatever she has available… she may refuse a bottle or sippy but as long as you keep offering *ONLY* that, she will eventually learn to take from it. there will be rough hours and days, but she’ll learn. eek. good luck, momma!! (i’m planning to get rid of Lovie’s daytime bottles once she’s solely on cow’s milk- cold turkey+ by giving only sippy cups during the day… eek!)

Leave a Reply

