Skip to content

Countdown

January 5, 2011

One year ago today I entered the hospital for an induction. Four days later I had a C-section. I won’t go into details. They are already here. Six days after I entered the hospital, I left with my arms full of pure joy.

*****************

Having been flat on our backs for a few days, we are way behind in prepping for Caroline’s party. It’s not a huge deal, the only attendees are a few close friends with little one’s of their own and a family member or two. But still, I like my house to reach basic sanitation level before I invite people into my home and I’ve been busy doing laundry since Caroline threw up on, literally, every piece of clothing I own.  I’m working at night to get things done, but I am still wiped out from that stomach bug and just really want to go to bed every night at 7:00.

Speaking of that bug, a few nights of extra special treatment and Caroline seems to have forgotten her whole bedtime routine. When we put her in her crib now, it is Ferberization all over again. It is just as bad the second time around. But having her in our bed is just not an option anymore. She kicks, she head butts and she likes to stretch out transversely across the bed causing DH and I to hang onto the sides for dear life.  Last night was better than the night before, hopefully tonight will be better than last.

********************

I am still amazed watching Caroline’s language development. She tries to repeat everything we say. I love the way she studies my mouth when I talk, trying to figure out how I am making each sound.

A couple of recent additions:

Book- she now wakes up in the middle of the night wanting her “boos” (books) rather than her “bahs”(balls). She has a book obsession going on right now. She wants to have all her books read to her but only one page of each.

Woof Woof- There is a picture of  dog on the back of one of her beloved books and she carries it around saying “woof woof”. As well as other random barking.

No no no!- This one I guess I will be hear a lot of in the coming years. She doesn’t completely have the right context down yet but she does frequently use it appropriately. Sometimes it even has a finger wag.

I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dana permalink
    January 5, 2011 5:47 pm

    I guess I should be glad that Sydney’s language skills aren’t on par with Caroline’s yet. She knows “no” but can’t say it yet. Oh, but the finger wave, she has that down too.
    Happy Birthday week Miss Caroline. Glad you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

